Staff Directory

For general contact details my Contact page.

The group can be contacted via telephone, email or post. For email add @uclan.ac.uk to the listed entries below. For telephone add 01772 89; if overseas add your local international dial code and 441772 89.

For administrative and general enquiries, please contact the Departmental Office.

Professors

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
Prof. Silvia Dalla sdalla Personal 3527 LE105 Professor of Solar Physics
Prof. Victor Debattista vpdebattista Personal 3568 LE210 Professor of Astrophysics
Prof. Cristina Popescu cpopescu Personal 3551 LE106 Professor of Astrophysics
Prof. Robert Walsh rwwalsh   4282 AB111 Professor of Solar Physics
Prof. Derek Ward-Thompson dward-thompson Personal 3829 LE007 Professor of Astrophysics, Director of Jeremiah Horrocks Institute

Readers & Lecturers

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
Dr. Megan Argo margo  Personal 5157 LE306 Senior Lecturer in Astronomy, Course Leader – Astronomy Distance Learning
Dr. Danielle Bewsher dbewsher   3271 LE104 Principal Lecturer, Academic Lead for Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy
Dr. Daniel Brown dsbrown   3305 LE113 Reader in Solar Physics
Dr. Paul Freeman pgfreeman   3302 LE307 Senior Lecturer in Physics, Course Leader for Physics and Astrophysics
Dr. Monika Gamza mgamza Personal 3262 LE307 Senior Lecturer in Physics
Dr. Barbara Hassall bjmhassall   3570 LE113 Senior Lecturer in Astrophysics
Dr. Jason Kirk jmkirk   6416 LE309 Senior Lecturer in Astrophysics
Dr. Serban Lepadatu slepadatu   3553 LE005 Senior Lecturer in Physics
Dr. Paul Marston pmarston   3542 LE114 Senior Lecturer in Mathematics
Dr. Steve McCann smmccann   3304 LE309 Senior Lecturer in Physics
Dr. Tim Mercer tmercer1   3161 LE005 Senior Lecturer in Physics
Dr. Mark Norris mnorris2 Personal  3548 LE306 Senior Lecturer in Astrophysics
Dr. Brett Patterson bapatterson   3567 LE114 Senior Lecturer in Physics.
Dr. Davide Penazzi dpenazzi   3827 LE006a Senior Lecturer in Mathematics
Dr. Joanne Pledger jpledger   6411 LE308 Senior Lecturer in Astrophysics
Dr. Christopher Powles cpowles   3572 LE116 Senior Lecturer in Mathematics
Dr. Anne Sansom aesansom Personal 3730 LE308 Reader in Astrophysics
Dr. Dimitris Stamatellos dstamatellos Personal 6418 LE305 Reader in Astrophysics
Dr. Bill Swalwell baswalwell   5157 LE114 Professional tutor in Mathematics
Dr. Karen Syres ksyres   3580 LE006 Senior Lecturer in Physics
Dr Tim Walton TWalton Personal 4023 LE116 Senior Lecturer in Mathematics, Course Leader for Mathematics
Dr. Jon Wilson JWilson30  Personal 3544 LE006a Lecturer in Mathematics

Research Staff

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
Dr. Daniel Holdsworth dlholdsworth   3290 LE115 Research Fellow
Dr. Timo Laitinen tlmlaitinen Personal 3280 LE115 Research Fellow
Dr. Joe Smerdon jsmerdon   2700 LE006 Senior Research Fellow

Research Students

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
Stuart R. Anderson     3573 LE302 Galactic Astrophysics
Jamie Banister jbanister   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Jake Brooks jebrooks   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Ethan Carter ecarter6   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Michael Drew MDrew1   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Alan Craggs AHCraggs1   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Simon Ebo sjebo   3573 LE302 Observations of Exoplanets
Ethan Faithfull-Evans EFaithfull-evans   3573 LE302 Physics
Graham Fleming gdfleming   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
David Glass dhwglass   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Steven Gough-Kelly sgough-kelly   3573 LE302 Galactic Astrophysics
Ruth Hyndman rahyndman   3573 LE302 Solar Physics
Christopher Inman cjinman   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Janik Karoly jkaroly   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Alexia Lopez amlopez   3573 LE302 Extragalactic Astrophysics
Gordon McKay gmckay2   3573 LE302 Galactic Astrophysics
Aaron Mills amills8   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Björn Ólafsson bgolafsson   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Charlotte Proverbs cvproverbs   3573 LE302 Solar Physics
Amar Rambukwella-Gill asrambukwella-gill1   3573 LE302 Galactic Astrophysics
Anna Rankin arankin2   3573 LE302 Solar Physics
Joshua Stanway jsstanway   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Matthew Teasdale mteasdale1   3573 LE302 Stellar Physics
Henry Tsang HCHTsang   3573 LE302 Mathematics
Udit Tiwari     2686 MBB002 Experimental Physics

Visiting Fellows & Emeritus Staff

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
Dr. Martin Birch mjbirch   3554   Senior Visiting Fellow
Prof. Philip Bissel pbissell   3563   Emeritus Professor, Nanophysics and Magnetic Materials
Prof. Gordon Bromage gebromage   3569   Emeritus Professor, Astrophysics, Former JHI Director
            Dr. Tim Cawthorne tvcawthorne Personal      
Dr. Roger Clowes rgclowes Personal     Emeritus Reader in Extragalactic Astrophysics
Prof. Don Kurtz dwkurtz   3735 LE211 Professor of Astrophysics
Dr. Flavio De Lorenzi         Visiting Fellow
Dr. David Murphy         Visiting Fellow
Dr. Clive Elphick         Visiting Fellow
Dr. John Hargreaves jhargreaves   3554   Senior Visiting Fellow
Prof. Michael Holmes mcholmes   3561   Emeritus Professor, former Dean of Graduate Research School
Dr. Mark Rushton         Visiting Fellow
Prof. Dejan Vinkovic         Visiting Professor, Executive Director of the Science and Society Synergy Institute – University of Split
Prof. Gerard Williger         Visiting Fellow

Support Staff

Name Email Personal Telephone Room Role
David Capstick djcapstick1   3564 MB208 Starlink System Administrator
Rick Collins rcollins   4351 MB114 Technical Support
Jacqueline (Jackie) Fanner         Alston Technician
Steve Mills         Technician